Let your Ego Go!

Most people try to work hard, exceed expectations of ones self and sometimes have a big ego when it comes to what you can and cannot do. I for one and guilty of all three of these things. I work extremely hard at everything I do, I’m always trying to do better than I can, being that I’m my hardest critic and you can’t get past that everyone has an ego. Try telling me that I can’t do something, I dare you. I will do everything in my power to accomplish that goal. I don’t even like people helping me carry things or help out with groceries sometimes because I can physically handle that. But what have to do is leave our egos at the door, and lucky enough for us everyplace we walk into has a door! Haha never be afraid to ask for guidance or help no matter how much it may bother you at first or make you feel uncomfortable. Never feel afraid to listen to yourself, listen to your body. For instance this morning I had plans to get up at 6:45 and do my 3 miles of running for the Chicago Marathon training. Well being yesterday was leg day and I still wasn’t recovered from the long run I decided to listen to what my body was telling me and get that extra hour of sleep because I simply needed it. I still have plans to run those 3 today but I need to allow my body to warm up and get going first. Same concept applies for a diet/nutrition program. If you have all these events and competitions coming up but you can only say (x) amount of food during training, you may run out of energy to even start those tasks. Simply put if your hungry or need energy then EAT! Eat healthy and nutritious don’t eat that big greasy burger. Same applies if you’re beyond sore and fatigued in the weight room. It’s okay to take a rest day or go a little lighter to give your body that rest or break it needs. Never let your head get to big for your shoulders, stay humbled and leave your ego at the door. 
IG: @zachkoteckifitness

Facebook: zachkoteckifitness

Leave a Reply

