Testing your Limits 

Are you invincible? No you’re not unfortunately, but chances are is that you are a lot stronger mentally and physically than you think you are. How do you find out just how much more you can do or take? You surround yourself with others who expect you to be perfect every time. With others who don’t let you take the easy way out or let you walk those last couple feet to the finish line when you’re supposed to give it your all until the end. The way I found out just how much more I can do was yesterday. I was deadlifting and I was doing reps of 5 thinking that was just about the most I can do at the given weight. I upped the weight to just about what my max was and set out to hit those 5 reps (hopefully) but the guys at the gym didn’t let me stop at 5. Everyone started yelling and pushing me past my 5 reps until I failed and couldn’t do any more. I ended the set hitting 15 reps… now this is by no means the best at the gym or even too good for most experienced lifters but this was huge for me. I realized just how much more my body can do even when my mind was telling me to stop, to let go of that bar because my body hurt, my shins are bleeding from the bar path and my head is lighter than a balloon because I did 10 of those reps on my first breath. Once I gave it my all and I couldn’t hit one more rep I dropped that bar and felt on top of the world. The crew came and congratulated me on my efforts and because of them pushing me I got better. I tested my limits and got stronger and gained more confidence in what was my worst lift and now I cannot wait for the next deadlift session. As is often said here at Iron Valley I raised my expectations. You will never get to that next level whether it be in school, sports or the weight room if you never test your limits. Who knows, maybe you too will be surprised by yourself and be one step closer to becoming invincible. “If you always put limit on everything you do, physical or anything else. It will spread into your work and into your life. There are no limits. There are only plateaus, and you must not stay there, you must go beyond them.”

-Bruce Lee

IG: @zachkoteckifitness

Leave a Reply

